Planning & Zoning

Crafton Planning Commission

Advises the Borough Council on development matters under the Borough Zoning Ordinances and Comprehensive Plan, and recommends appropriate actions. The Commission is comprised of five members who serve three-year terms. Meetings on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:15 PM.


  • Lydia Herring, Chairperson (April 13, 2020)

  • Richard Kraemer, Secretary (April 18, 2022)

  • Michael Crown (April 13, 2019)

  • Phillip Levasseur (April 13, 2021)

  • Ashley McCullough (April 13, 2021)

Crafton Zoning Hearing Board

Hears and rules on appeals by applicants for variances or special exceptions from determinations by the Zoning Officer under provisions of the Borough Zoning Ordinance. The Board is comprised of three members with one alternate who serve three-year terms. Meetings/hearings are scheduled as needed.


  • Stephen Palchowski, Chairperson (December 31, 2020)

  • Jeffrey Harlich (December 31, 2018)

  • James Schriver (December 31, 2019)

  • Alt: Katherine DeAngelis (December 31, 2018)

Crafton Building Appeals Board

Reviews cases involving enforcement of the Building Code. Members have qualifying criteria and construction/builder background. The Board is comprised of three members who serve three-year terms.


  • Mark Viola (December 31, 2019)

  • Douglas Clark (December 31, 2018)

  • Vacancy (term expired December 31, 2017)